ACTA signed by 22 EU members

Photo by Tim Pierce

When discussing about Internet going on strike to protest against Stop Online Piracy and Protect IP Acts, we never knew that, very soon, we would come across some kind of finalizing of ACTA, the Anti Counterfeiting Trade Agreement.

ACTA was signed in Japan on Thursday by most of the EU members, including Greece. ACTA was not signed by Germany, Holland, Cyprus,Esthonia and Cyprus.

ACTA was first signed on October 1st 2011 by the US, Japan, South Korea, Australia, Morocco, Singapore and New Zealand.

What is ACTA?

ACTA is an international agreement that aims to create international standards on intellectual property rights enforcement. The title of the treaty suggests the agreement deals with counterfeit goods, such as medicines and luxury goods. However, the treaty actually has a much broader scope and will deal with tools targeting internet distribution and information technology.

Why do people protest against ACTA?

Mostly because it has been discussed behind closed doors for the last few years. Also, being a trade agreement, it has allowed to be discussed in a more “silent” manner, instead as being introduced as an actual piece of legislation. Unusually for a trade agreement, there are criminal sanctions.

Who opposes ACTA?

We could start by mentioning the Polish who demonstrated openly against it, together with some members of their parliament who entered the country’s parliament wearing Guy Fawkes masks.

There are many activist organizations who run against it, as well as members of the European Parliament.

If you wish to find out more about the organizations taking action against ACTA you can click here

If you wish to see the latest text agreement made public in April 2011, click here

To participate in the global discussion against or in favour ACTA on Twitter, follow the hashtag #ACTA


0 Comment